First 2-weeks recap

Small disclaimer before starting my post: Sorry in advance for the utter awkwardness that will ensue below. It will get better, I suppose, as I get used to doing this.

Now that I got that off my chest, let’s begin retelling my past 2 weeks (quite literally, two weeks today) in South Korea.

I arrived on August 19th, and other than being completely ecstatic, the only thing I remember is having to haul my two 50 lbs suitcases all the way up to a fourth floor. It could have been worse, but thanks to my two years living on a third-floor dorm, I made it through only sweating off almost have of my body weight. After that, I just remember sleeping and sleeping and sleeping… oh and rambling off on snapchat about how I was actually on a plane with the Olympic team from South Korea but did not notice it until the very last minute. Classic Metzli move. Oh and by the way, my room is TY-NEE… remind me to show you one day.

The rest of the week was spent on getting to know the area and attempting (and probably failing) to speak Korean. All the old ladies have been probably my favorite part of the trip. If they are not looking at me like I must be extremely lost, they are chuckling and being so happy at my attempts to speak their language. A fellow Tar Heel, Sade, with whom I traveled around that first week would engage them in some sort of staring contest at the subway, and that never fails to make me laugh… it is priceless.

There is so much I want to tell you all about but I don’t think I can sit at the library for that long, so I’ll just skip ahead. The day I met the rest of the girls from my university studying at Yonsei was during Orientation. August 25th to be exact. While Abie had just gotten to Korea the day before (no idea how she was paying attention during Orientation), Jennifer had been here for a while longer. All of these three girls are SUCH A BLESSING and I can’t begin to express how lucky I am to share this trip with them. The Carolina Way is truly the best way. By the end of the day, we broke off into smaller groups and I met Morgan and Kate, from Canada and Korea, respectively. Once again, more blessings. Sharing that Rainbow Crepe dessert with them was one of the smartest things I’ve done on this trip.

By the time classes started yesterday, September 1st, I have done so much in Korea, yet there is still so much to do. I’ve been on a street food tour, got free drinks from the owner of a club, got free dessert from a restaurant, shopped, ATE SO MUCH FOOD, laughed like no other, listened to so much kpop, ATE EVEN MORE FOOD, fell in love with this country even more, have I mentioned food yet? fangirled like no one’s business, more laughing, more shopping, more eating, more waking up being amazed that I’m actually in South Korea, and so many more memories.

Ok. I think that’s enough for my first post, right? I promise they will be more structured and more in detail as the days roll by. Hope you guys enjoyed it and please give me tooons of feedback! Do you have any food suggestions or places to go? I’ll take ’em, just send me a Facebook message or leave them down below.

Bueno, Adosito!

Leave a Reply

